Enroll - $12.95

No Discount Code Needed

About the Course

Our approved Michigan alcohol server training course is designed to promote the legal and responsible sale and service of alcoholic beverages in Michigan.

Alcohol Server Training is now required in Michigan for anyone selling alcoholic beverages in a store or serving drinks in a bar or restaurant.

Alcohol Responsible Server training is an important way to learn how to recognize signs of intoxication, how to check ID’s, minors and alcohol, Michigan state specific server laws, and many other skills to help you keep your customers and your establishment safe.

This course is approved for BOTH on-premise (restaurants and bars) and off-premise (store) certifications in the state of Michigan.

Course Features

Our Michigan alcohol seller/server course is a 2 hour, self-paced, interactive course with full audio narration and real-world scenarios for the best user experience and information retention.

Once you create an account you can log in from any computer* and train any time, anywhere.

You can log in and out of your training account and your place in the course will be saved. Your course will be available to complete for 6 months from purchase.

After successfully completing this course and the 26 multiple choice question final exam, you will be able to print your official Seller/Server Training Certificate from your own printer.

*This course will work on mobile devices including iPhone's or iPad's.

Course Outline

This Alcohol Server Training Course contains five units of instruction, a supplement covering alcohol sales and service laws specific to Michigan, and an online final exam. Below is a detailed course outline of topics covered in the course.

Unit 1 - Introduction

Topics in this Lesson:

  • Welcome
  • How this Course Works
  • Course Topics

Unit 2 - Responsible Alcohol Service

Topics in this Lesson:

  • Responsibilities of a Server
  • Criminal Negligence
  • Dram Shop Laws
  • Dram Shop & Minors
  • Three Kinds of Duties
  • Unit Two Review
  • Unit Two Quiz

Unit 3 - Minors and Alcohol

Topics in this Lesson:

  • Age Verification
  • ID Validation
  • ID Guides
  • Refusing an ID
  • Incident Log
  • Compliance Checks
  • 2nd Party Sales
  • Unit Three Review
  • Unit Three Quiz

Unit 4 - Physical Effects of Alcohol

Topics in this Lesson:

  • Alcohol Absorption
  • Blood Alcohol Concentration
  • Absorption Triggers
  • Common Diseases and Disorders
  • Drink Tampering
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Unit Four Review
  • Unit Four Quiz

Unit 5 - Intoxication

Topics in this Lesson:

  • Recognizing Intoxication
  • Indicators of Intoxication
  • Go, Slow, No Technique
  • Managing Drinking Behavior
  • Unit Five Review
  • Unit Five Quiz

Michigan State Laws & Rules

Topics in this Lesson:

  • Prohibited Conduct
  • Consumption & Possession by a Minor
  • False Identification
  • Consumption by a Minor
  • Selling, Serving and Employment Age
  • Minors
  • Hours of Operation
  • Signage
  • Off-Premise Retailers

Final Exam

  • 26 multiple-choice questions - you must score at least 80% to pass

Certificate of Completion

Upon successfully completing the Michigan Alcohol Seller/Server Training course and final exam, you will be able to immediately print your official Server Training Certification. It will also be emailed to you.

Your certification is valid for 3 years from the date of course completion.

A copy of this server training certification must be kept at your place of business.

If you lose your Certificate of Completion and need a replacement, you can log back into your account and print additional copies.

Training Requirements

Alcohol Seller/Server Training has been required in Michigan since August 1, 2001

  • There must be a certified server on duty at all times.
  • New Licensees have 180 days to get there servers trained.
  • The certification is only good for 3 years.
  • To re-certify a seller/server must complete a new course and final exam.

MLCC Approved Program

Our Sure Sell Now alcohol server training course has been approved by the Sate of Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) and complies with the laws of MCL 436.1906. You can view the program approval on the state of Michigan LCC website.